Past Oskar Klein Memorial Lectures

In honour of the memory of Oskar Klein, the Organizing Committee of the Oskar Klein Memorial Lectures every year invites a distinguished researcher to give a Memorial Lecture and to receive the Klein medal.

The Memorial Lectures have been organized since 1988.

List of previous Oskar Klein Memorial Lectures
2023 Alessandra Buonanno Gravitational-Wave Astronomy: Theoretical Advances and Challenges


Igor R. Klebanov Strong Interactions, Strings, and Extra Dimensions
2020 Roy P. Kerr Kerr Black Holes have no Singularities
2019 Lisa Randall New Ideas for Dark Matter
2018 Leonard Susskind The Quantum Origins of Gravity
2017 Sheldon Glashow Nobel Ideas in Particle Physics
2016 Kip Thorne Gravitational Waves: The Physics and Astrophysics of LIGO
2015 Rashid Sunyaev Unavoidable Distortions in the Spectrum of CMB and the Blackbody Photosphere of Our Universe
2014 Andrew Strominger Conformal Symmetry in the Sky
2013 Frank Wilczek Superfluidity and Symmetry Breaking: Past Glories, New Frontiers
2012 Juan Maldacena Quantum Chromodynamics, Strings, and Black Holes
2011 Joseph Silk From Here to Infinity: The Origin and Evolution of the Universe
2010 Alexei A. Starobinsky Four Historical Epochs and Four Fundamental Constants of Modern Cosmology
2009 Peter Higgs My Life as a Boson
2008 Helen Quinn Klein-Gordon (Scalar) Particles in the Universe
2007 Gabriele Veneziano String Theory, Gravity, and Cosmology
2006 Viatcheslav Mukhanov From Quantum Fluctuations to the Structure of the Universe
2005 Yoichiro Nambu Symmetry and Symmetry Breaking: a Tension in Natural Laws
2004 Pierre Ramond Sunshine at Midnight: The Neutrino Saga
2003 Stephen Hawking Can Fundamental Theory Predict the Universe?
2002 Martin Rees From Simple Big Bang to Complex Cosmos
2001 Andrei Linde  
2000 David Gross Towards a Theory of Everything
1999 Gerard 't Hooft Can there be Physics without Experiments? Challenges and Pitfalls
1998 Edward Witten Magic, Mystery and Matrix
1997 P. James E. Peebles Tests of the Relativistic Big Bang Cosmology
1996 Alexander M. Polyakov Field Theory as a Universal Language
1995 Nathan Seiberg Exact Results in Four Dimensional Quantum Field Theory
1994   The Klein Memorial Lecture grew into the Klein Symposium to commemorate Klein's 100th birthday.
1993 T.D. Lee  
1992 John A. Wheeler Delayed Choice Experiments and the Lesson of the Quantum
1991 Alan H. Guth Do the Laws of Physics Allow Us to Create a New Universe?
1990 Hans E. Bethe Theory of Neutrinos from the Sun


Steven Weinberg Beyond the Standard Models
1988 Chen Ning Yang Symmetry and Physics


On this page