Prof. Hiranya Peiris
Hiranya Peiris, director of the Oskar Klein Centre


This year the Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics is awarded to the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) team, "for detailed maps of the early universe that greatly improved our knowledge of the evolution of the cosmos and the fluctuations that seeded the formation of galaxies." 

Dr. Peiris worked on WMAP as a PhD student and was involved in the analysis and cosmological interpretation of the first round of data from the satellite which NASA launched in 2001. Her contributions led to a significant understanding of structure formation in the early Universe.

"It’s a huge honour to have been part of this project. The legacy of the WMAP mission continues to strongly influence research in cosmology worldwide,” said Professor Peiris. "WMAP’s experimental  sensitivity and resolution allowed us to figure out the basic cosmological model that describes our Universe."